Fruit Pot

I sat there, in front of the computer having my lunch when I noticed something, the fruit in the pot was being organised by myself in an almost subconscious manner. My mind seemed to be a separate component to the rest of my body, just observing what was being carried out.

The fruit pot contained Pineapples, Grapes, Apples, Oranges and a few melons. My favourite of the bunch are the first two and in that order. The fruit was eaten in the order above, yet in reverse. I decided to eat the least favourable fruits first, the ones that left a taste in my mouth that I did not care to appreciate or savour for that matter. Lastly, I ate the fruits that I was looking forward to, something that made the task of eating a blasted melon that bit easier.

Then it struck me, I was completing the task of eating the fruit bowl by starting off with something that I did not like, it is only when those items were gone (or eaten in this case) that I was able to relax and enjoy the remaining fruit.

Why does this method seem familiar?

It seems that I am doing the same thing with my university work, by creating a menu which consists of those dreaded melons and oranges, I am getting rid of those tasks that are harder for me to complete. Thus, I am putting in the effort now, so that I may relax and enjoy the fruits of my labour afterwards…. if you’ll pardon the pun.

Leave a Reply

