The hunt for Ashley

Calm down, I am not going to sharpen my pitchfork, I just want to talk – I promise.

Whilst studying different theories on the internet, two key themes were recurring constantly in my mind.

Ergonomics & Aesthetic

As mentioned in my previous post, the above two do quite fascinate me and I’m beginning to want to study them instead of a single chair. Whilst this could be understood as a vague thing, I’m still unsure of whether to go down this route or not.

Perhaps I can continue with the chair theme as see which plays a key role within this sector. A quick search in the university library has garnered disappointing results.

There are a few books which contain information with regards to ergonomics however, there aren’t any specific ones that relate to the aesthetic. I’ve yet to find some research that compares the both – not to say that it doesn’t exist of course.

I’m beginning to think that this will result in myself carrying out some research.

Brain wave!

What if I conducted a study to find out which chairs are deemed attractive and then got people to sit on them.

I would record the opinions before and after the experience and then reflect on the change.

Update:

After tracking down Ashley using my superb hunting skills (she was casually talking to someone in the heart space), I managed to talk to her about the following things. The new directive is now to look at the definition of ergonomic as well as aesthetic to then form a comparison or a relationship between them. The key definition is the particular topic will be the meaning of aesthetic in relation to design and to then find a chair that conforms to both meanings.

Leave a Reply

