Constellation Reflection

Constellation has had a positive effect on the way that I have carried out certain tasks in my subject areas. One of the modules related to designing equipment for children to use when they are outside. As I was studying creativity and cognitive development, I found it easy to combine both to create something that a child would definitely like. Creativity and cognitive was quite interesting as it looked at the different theories that various philosophers had found, ranging from Barthes, to Piaget.

The theories were nice and short and provided an insight in to what the philosophers thought of our world. Piaget for example, thought that the child is a philosopher of his own and sees things on their own terms. Barthes pondered how children thought up of the games that they played, and also asked why it was adults that created things for children.

The ideology that Piaget had, inspired me to explore his theory further. By doing this, I found out there were other theorists who believed what he did, but tweaked the ideology a bit. I have got many younger cousins, niece and nephews and have always paid interest in what they do as well as talking about their future careers. Piaget had studied cognitive development and produced theories on based on this. I wanted to take that theory a step further and reflect on how important a child’s cognitive development is.

The first essay I wrote for constellation was based on how a child’s future career can be affected by their upbringing in life and what they see life as. I also found out about feral children. This subject was interesting as I could not fathom why or how this had happened. A prime example is Oxana Malaya, a child who was raised by dogs. For my essay, I compared her intelligence, and cognitive development to a child genius called Thomas Frith.

The essay feedback I got was quite good, my tutor acknowledged the sources that I used but mentioned a few key points for me to improve on which, definitely helped my essay writing. Examples of feedback were to use up to date information and also reference correctly.

The learning style of creativity and cognitive was definitely intellectually stimulating. The tutor would use a power point presentation, coupled with a bit of reading as well as a class discussion. This method was quite effective as it meant that the class could contribute in whatever manner they wanted, which was highly effective. The tutor would also hold a few Q & A sessions which cleared any doubt that we had.

Leaving this study group I have learnt about the different methods of seeing the world. Many people have their own unique perspective on the world which also influences what they do, as well as how they express themselves in the art and design world. An example being when IKEA had allowed children to design their own toys. One child designed a toy with big ears on purpose; so that it may be able to listen to their secrets.

Neo futurist architecture was similarly interesting. It did not translate well enough in to my subject area, as I was not doing anything which really related to the idea of architecture. The tutor did go through a variety of different ideologies or architectural styles however. One ideology that captured my interest was biomimicry.

This has been described as learning from nature and has key books written on the subject. We were shown materials which ranged from animals that adapted their bodies, to habitats to suit the climate change. For example the Namibian fog basking beetle and termite architecture. I learnt that we can copy what nature does and try to replicate its processes.

We were told the difference between biomimicry and biomorphic, as well as seeing example of biomorphic architecture. I was quite inspired by this whole idea of using biomimicry and decided to base my essay on how the world would be, with biomimetic products. When reading books like biomimicry in architecture, and the shark’s paintbrush – I was surprised to see how elevated the whole ideology was. The authors constantly praised biomimicry and definitely saw it as the way forward. To me, this seemed quite strange so I decided to explore whether the authors were right or not.

We were also shown archigram which narrated the thinking of a British architectural firm. I have to say I have found this group to be quite weird. Based on the images that I saw, I really didn’t like the architecture that this group were either responsible for, or liked. One thing however was, that I liked the suitaloon garment. I found it quite amusing that someone could wear that and be in their own bubble – literally.

The lesson plan of this subject was still interesting but somewhat less stimulating than creativity and cognitive. Nicholas did speak quite a bit and did try and get the class involved but I feel that the class, myself included; were too scared to say something – in case we got it wrong. Not that Nicholas would scream at us, but we would just get embarrassed. There was not much reading to be done nor did anyone in our class muster the courage to have any discussions. Nicholas did however answer questions at the end of the class and had actually made time slots for students to give advice or feedback.

This was quite helpful as it really allowed me to focus on what to write as well as letting Nicholas to suggest books to read in order to aid with my essay.

The ideologies that I have seen in constellation has allowed me to look at and identify the concepts that different theorists have, as well as the impact that it can have on the world. It really aided me in finding out more about my personal style in terms of what I liked, disliked as well as what I believe to be correct.

Leave a Reply

